IACMC MILITARIA FORUM

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

+5
Mercenary25
bravo_2_zero
filupe
Philip
CollectinSteve
9 posters

Need help with US Special Forces 6 Color Desert Jacket

CollectinSteve
    CollectinSteve
    ADMIN
    ADMIN

Registration date : 2009-03-08
    Number of posts : 6906

Need help with US Special Forces 6 Color Desert Jacket Empty Need help with US Special Forces 6 Color Desert Jacket

Post by CollectinSteve Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:15 am

Hi all!

I'm hoping to get some help figuring out what to do about this new item to my collection. There's a number of things that don't really look right to me, but I'm not an expert on US badging. The jacket, however, I am sure is the real deal. I've seen a couple of these, all of which are "Irregular". The date on it is 1988 and it's clearly marked as being for Special Forces. It combines the features of the Transitional uniform cut (predated BDU, came after slant pocket) with some unique features. Specifically, it's designed to be worn with a button in liner. Thus it is both a regular jacket with the capability of becoming a lined coat. Anyway, I think I spotted what got it the rejection stamp and as is often the case it's a minor blemish that nobody but an inspector would likely see.