IACMC MILITARIA FORUM

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hanging uniform construction tips

CollectinSteve
    CollectinSteve
    ADMIN
    ADMIN

Registration date : 2009-03-08
    Number of posts : 6952

Hanging uniform construction tips Empty Hanging uniform construction tips

Post by CollectinSteve Fri May 27, 2011 2:32 pm

I wrote this up a long time ago and either never posted it or put it somewhere on this Forum that isn't obvious. I am now reposting as per request:

Here are some tips based on my own experience building racks that currently hold about 800 items ranging from light summer shirts to 20 pound full length wool coats. There's 8 separate systems in all, so I've had some experience messing around with different methods, ranging from "high end" to "super cheap". Some tips I've already posted in other threads. Hopefully others will share their tips. Please don't be afraid to challenge/question my systems. Nothing is perfect Very Happy

Basic Design Considerations

Before you start, keep in mind some basic concepts prior to buying materials and start knocking things together. Here are some of the most important:

1. Basic dimensional requirements of the racks must be the prime consideration for your project. Not only to make sure the racks are of adequate size, but also that they fit in with the rest of the space around it. I've found that you need to allow about 32" in depth minimum, 34" preferred, to prevent hanging stuff from being squished from front to back. For height, 41" is needed from top to bottom for normal length uniforms. Longer items, like field jackets and winter coats, require more along the lines of 46". Full length garments, like great coats and jump suits require about 70". These dimensions allow for enough space to get the average hanger on and off the rack.