IACMC MILITARIA FORUM

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2 posters

SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame?

Rafski
    Rafski
    Corporal
    Corporal

Registration date : 2011-03-13
    Number of posts : 17

SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame? Empty SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame?

Post by Rafski Sun Oct 17, 2021 6:52 am

G'day,
    Hope members can help me identify this aluminium backpack frame please.
    It looks like a SADF 'butterfly' frame to me, manufactured by 'Three Spears' South Africa circa 1980?
    I'm not an expert on SADF militaria, but have picked up the odd item that caught my eye along the way.
    The backpack itself is a heavily modified 1980's Polish airborne pack, attached to the frame well after its initial uses as I suspect the frame was used by a member of the SADF.
    The hand-painted camouflage and colours on the frame and waist belt look SADF spec forces to me.
    Any help with identification of the frame itself and it's SADF history would be most appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Rafski
    SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame? Sadf_b14
    SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame? Sadf_b16
    SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame? Sadf_b15
    mrf2
    Corporal
    Corporal

Registration date : 2012-05-19
    Number of posts : 22

SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame? Empty Re: SADF 'butterfly' backpack frame?

Post by mrf2 Thu Oct 21, 2021 4:59 pm