IACMC MILITARIA FORUM

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

3 posters

Storage considerations for preserving cloth items long term

CollectinSteve
    CollectinSteve
    ADMIN
    ADMIN

Registration date : 2009-03-08
    Number of posts : 6888

Storage considerations for preserving cloth items long term Empty Storage considerations for preserving cloth items long term

Post by CollectinSteve Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:18 pm

A couple of years ago a question came up about what the best method of storage is... bins or hanging. Fortunately, I have a good friend who is a Conservator by trade. She doesn't specialize in conservation/restoration of cloth items, however she has done such work for the Smithsonian, a professional conservation company, and odd stuff here and there. I picked her brain for over an hour on this topic.

The short answer is that neither are optimal and therefore both systems have their problems in terms of how well they preserve things. Each has its own practical issues as well, but those are not directly relevant to the question about which is better for preservation.

On a personal note, how each of you stores your stuff is your own business. If you want to store it in puddles of water or tied to your chimney, it's no sweat off my nose unless I am unfortunate enough to trade with you Very Happy The purpose of this post is simply to take an honest look at the pros/cons of the two primary methods we use so that we can make informed choices. At the bottom are links to other professional sources which appear to reinforce the information my friend gave me, however everybody is encouraged to chip in with their own links or 1st hand experiences to help us better understand how theory and reality mesh Smile

With that intro out of the way, here I go...